Cichenhg Township, Ningbo, Zhejiang Province

Chinese Township Level City

Townships formally township level divisions is the basic level (fourth-level administrative units) of political divisions in China. They are similar to municipalities and communes in other countries and in turn may contain village committees and villages. In 1995 there were 29,502 townships and 17,532 towns (a total of 47,034 township-level divisions) in China. People's Republic of China

In the PRC's dual governance system, the township's governance is divided between the Communist Party Township Secretary, and the Mayor. A township official is the lowest-level ranked official in the CPC government hierarchy. The township has very few defined government responsibilities, except for the Birth Planning Commission.

A town is larger, often more populous, and less remote than a township.

Return to the Chinese City Definitions
Cichenhg Township, Ningbo, Zhejiang Province